Before the city got its name, it was known as the “Town of York” and ever since the last ice age, people had lived in the urban community. In 1793, British colonial officials founded the Town of York on the Upper Canadian frontier. The village grew and became the “the City of Toronto” in 1834.

Old City Hall

The Six

The reason why people call Toronto “the six” is because in 1998, six cities (Old Toronto, East York, North York, York, Etobicoke, and Scarborough) were combined into one city. Due to this, Toronto became one of the largest cities in North America.

Other Nicknames

  • Tdot
  • TO
  • The Big Smoke
  • Hogtown